The Plate is Not Enough

My dinner couldn’t fit on one plate today, and I am not ashamed. More on that in a bit.

Remember when I said I was bored earlier after coming back from breakfast and didn’t know what to do next? Well, Denis and I embarked shortly after to do the obvious thing: go out to eat lunch!

We went to the Purple Onion in Los Gatos. I was craving a giant latte and didn’t really feel the need for “real” food, since I had just eaten a protein filled breakfast.

I ordered a soy latte, a low fat pear muffin and an apple.

I can’t remember the last time I ate a muffin. YUM. Note to self: eat more muffins. Note to jeans: beware of the muffin top!

Denis got the tuna salad panini. Check out the flowers on the salad – so pretty!

Afterwards, we caught the last 10 minutes of the Los Gatos Farmer’s Market. I managed to spend around $1/minute. Horrifying or great success? I can’t decide. Was it worth it? You betcha!

Figs! I have NEVER purchased figs before. As soon as I laid eyes on these babies, I knew they had to be mine.

I also picked up some organic raspberries… obviously.

I have so many plans in store for these figs (inspired by foodgawker).

Awesome figgy sandwich

Fig, goat cheese, prosciutto, basil and balsamic reduction on focaccia. Good riddance.

Sausage and fig pizza

Figs with yogurt and honey

I am drooling right now just thinking about all the options.

For my first fig attempt, I went with something simple so that 1) I could really figure out what figs taste like in their natural element, and 2) I wouldn’t fail epically. As a dinner side dish, I roasted figs that I cut in half and drizzled with a mixture of balsamic vinegar, honey and kosher s&p.

Denis bbq’ed a veggie burger for me to eat as my main course. He also grilled a bunch of other veggies (thus the need for two plates!).

I ate the figs with feta, since I didn’t have any goat cheese on hand. Worked for me :).

I can’t wait to experiment more!

