There’s No Place Like Home

Oh man, yesterday I was up for 21 hours straight with the exception of a 1/2 hour power nap that did not give me power. I can’t remember the last time I napped – it has to have been years! But the traveling was worth it. It’s good to be back, away from the humidity, a life out of a duffel bag and a return flight that didn’t have TVs.

Before I boarded, I picked up a soy latte and a two pack of banana bread Quaker Oats for breakfast. I also bought a cinnamon raisin PowerBar Harvest for the plane to tie me over through east coast lunchtime in the air until I landed for west coast lunch time on the ground. While examining the packaging on the plane (what else is there to do??), I discovered that PowerBar is owned by Nestle. Who knew?!

Since there was an issue with the entertainment system on the flight, I read this.

Denis thinks this next picture is horrifying, but I really think that’s just how I look when I’m out of my mind tired, trapped on a plane and giving a half-hearted fake smile. Unfortunately, I’ve never been able to sleep on planes. Look how happy the guy behind me looks snoozing!

As soon as I landed and returned home, I drank a gallon of water, checked work email and passed out spooning my computer. When the alarm clock went off, I was STARVING. I don’t know what it was, but I was so hungry I couldn’t even stop to take a picture. I needed food, and I needed it IMMEDIATELY. I stumbled into the kitchen, still partially asleep, and poured a ship sized bowl of peanut butter puffins and an almond cluster cornflake cereal. I topped it off with a whole banana and almond milk. And I definitely went back for seconds. Phew, crisis averted.

I spent the rest of the afternoon kicking ass and taking names (okay, I was working the whole time) until Denis came to rescue me from my delirium. We decided to head to Opa!, since I had a serious craving for some Greek Salad after a day entirely composed of breakfast foods.

Perfection.

I spent the rest of the night writing a very belated rent check, picking up some Paula-cessities for the houseboat trip we’re embarking on Thursday morning (veggie burgers, granola and other fru fru things), slaving away on the computer (the life of a work minion) while listening to an episode of Dating in the Dark (wow, so ridiculously trashy) and loading up on tons of fruit that wasn’t available while I was traveling.

When I woke up this morning, I still felt a little like a train had run me over. I’m thinking that today might be a bit of a struggle, but off to work I go!

Have a great one!

