Zero to Hero

What the heck?! Denis and I were seeing if there was anything behind this whole Jersey Shore craze by keeping an episode on in the background, and I swear I just saw one of the girls go to bed with sunglasses on top of her head. Weird…

Anyhow, for this week’s fourth installment of overnight oats, I mixed 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup almond milk and a carton of light blueberry yogurt (about 3/4 cup). It was tasty, but I’ve got to say, regular yogurt just can’t hold its own against greek yogurt. It don’t think it kept me as full either.


For lunch I had another loaded ham sandwich from the cafe. This time I tried it with some sort of sundried tomato spread. I actually forgot my wallet earlier this week when I ordered this with olive tapenade and the cashier was nice enough to decide I was good for it and let me go on my way. I’m happy to say I finally resolved my debt today. Woohoo.

I think I ordered SO many fixings in my sandwich that they accidentally gave me some not-so-tasty flavoring extras. In this fuzzy image? A huge piece of ginger and a bay leaf. Random.

For dinner, Denis and I went to Rojoz Wraps because he’s never been and I haven’t gone since college. I made the mistake of getting a Yum Yum Chicken salad since I had quite a few snacks at work today. It was not so Yum Yum.

For dessert, I made a plate with double chocolate and oatmeal raisin and cranberry cookies surrounded by raspberries. After I demolished this, I made another plate with the rest of the carton of raspberries (so much for trying not to eat carton-sized servings) and a handful of peanut butter m&ms (the only good ones). Much more Yum Yum.

I actually tried out Garmy today on a short run (wow, running feels weird now… it’s been so long), but the watch had trouble acquiring satellite signal for the first leg of the run and I wasn’t able to get a complete read. I probably am just not using it correctly. Why read manuals when I can just push buttons until something happens? I also haven’t installed the software and programmed it to my needs, so I’ll wait for all those pieces to come into place before I report out. I think it even estimates how many calories you burn, but I definitely haven’t inputted my weight yet. Hopefully I’ll get it up and running tonight during the Project Runway season premiere. In all, I think I probably ran a very slow 2.4 miles. FYI – I can’t run anything but very slow.

My surprise purchase today? Well, let’s just say there was a reason for me lacing up my running shoes despite being dog dead tired after work.

I may have registered for this while gobbling up my overnight oats.

Eeps! I only have two months to go from zero to hero in time for the San Jose Rock ‘n’ Roll half marathon.

Instead of training, I have been spending the evening reading about training while eating cookies. I found this one article on the training page for the Rock ‘n’ Roll that talks about how people tend to eat when presented with food regardless of hunger levels. I love the opening quote. “I’m on the see food diet. When I see it, I eat it.” Hah, I can totally relate to that one.

I’m having a bit of difficulty choosing a training plan. I feel like a beginner given my total lack of mileage for the last two months, but at the same time, I did successfully run an entire marathon at the beginning of June. It seems like most articles have one regiment for a zero and another for a hero. I think I’m more like a very advanced zero… perhaps an ultra zero. I’ll have to do more research. My goal is to pick one by this weekend, so I can have a full two months to train. Hopefully this will give me something else to focus on and look forward to outside of work.

Have a good evening!

