Door, Meet Face. 

Today I got hit smack in the face. By a door. I was coming out of the office bathroom, pulling the door toward me as I made way for an adjacent co-worker to exit first and *BAM!*, another co-worker picked that moment to push the door in from the outside as she rushed into the bathroom. And this wasn’t just any co-worker; this was a swimming co-worker. Biceps of steel –> Door –> My face. Guess who lost that battle?

Moving on to better things.

I had two foodie blogger milestones today!

The first occurred during breakfast with my VERY FIRST bowl of overnight oats! I whipped up the concoction last night.

Paula’s Maiden Voyage Overnight Oats

1/2 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup almond milk

1 single serve container of Strawberry 0% Oikos Greek Yogurt (~1/2 cup)

Goodnight, dear oats!

After sitting covered in the fridge all night, they were ready for some eatin’ this morning.

This bowl is not much of a looker, but it was really, really good! I would never have craved hot oatmeal this morning, since it was already heating up when I sat down for breakfast a little before 8. This cold oatmeal, however, was very refreshing AND filling, which is a problem I have with normal cold cereal. I could probably eat a 1/3 of a box of cereal and still not be full (something is wrong with me, I know).

I was so impressed that I already started dreaming up tomorrow’s concoction – a pumpkin version, obviously sans the strawberry yogurt.

For lunch, I went to Sato sushi nearby the office. It’s pretty good, but not mind-blowing like my overnight oats (obviously). We got some seaweed salad and tofu apps to share, and I ordered a vegetable roll for my main.

The sushi had a ton of rice on it, which I ate all of. Probably could have cut back there given my weight when I went to the doctor’s this morning (my jeans were abnormally heavy, I swear) and the incident of the love handle picture from yesterday.

Around 5:45, I had my second milestone as a food-loving blogger – I ate the Banana Bread Larabar from my ultimatum and LOVED it! I loved it so much that it left me wondering if I had remembered my past experience incorrectly… maybe I just happened to stumble upon the one bad flavor? Or maybe it was another type of bar entirely? Regardless, Mr. Larabar and I will not have to break up for the rest of eternity and this one certainly won’t be my last.

I then headed to the gym to do 45 minutes on the elliptical while watching “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” on the Food Network. There is something strangely soothing about watching images of decadent salted caramel brownies while working out.

Dinner was simple. Denis’ pasta sauce on top of mushrooms with two slices of toast and two wedges of Laughing Cow Light. I can’t get over how tasty Laughing Cow is. I will probably continue raving about it with every bite as I eat my way through our five round Costco pack. Sorry in advance to Denis, who is going to be forced to listen to all this exultation.

What made this toast even more special was the bread. Oh god, the bread. Denis bought me something that he deemed the most Paula-appropriate from WFs, and at first I was skeptical due to the caloric content – the bread is 160 calories/slice, which seems pretty darn hefty (almost 2 slices of other bread!).

As I found out tonight, those calories are totally worth it. The bread is super hearty, tasty and also capable of begging me to eat another slice. It would have been rude not to oblige.

I’m off to get some more work done in preparation for tomorrow. Hopefully I’ll have some time to squeeze in a pre-bedtime episode of “The Gates”!