Buns in the Oven (literally)

Because of my top secret AM activity today, I got to eat breakfast at home! I love eating at home in the morning – it’s so much more relaxing than eating hunched over the computer in my cube while catching up on mail (that was sent… weeks ago). Granted, I still eat in front of a computer at home, but it’s my pretty Mac instead of my work PC and I’m reading my favorite blogs instead of demanding emails!

I mixed Honey Almond Flax GoLean Crunch with Natural Granola and topped it all off with almond milk. I’m very excited to announce that the end is finally in sight for the Costco-sized bag of Natural Granola. I’ve been rocking that thing for almost as long as I’ve been rocking this haircut (i.e. for as long as I can remember).

On a semi-related note, I really want to purchase a couple cute bowls to eat my cereal in. I have one at work, but I don’t really have another one to use at home. Does anyone have any bowl suggestions?

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to take a picture of my lunch since it was a semi-working partner lunch. You’ll have to take my word for it when I say that my Chinese chicken salad with goldfish and beets was delicious but not filling at all. And that when I got back to my desk, I OD’ed on a fruition bar and a bag of yogurt covered pretzels. Whoops.

Lucky for me, Denis took a picture of his lunch to share!

Denis’ work cafeteria >>>>>>>> my work cafeteria. You would never see this glorious bowl of¬†Vietnamese flat noodles with salmon and some julienned veggies where I toil. He Siracha-ed (yes, I just made a verb) it before proclaiming the dish glorious!

After work I went to kick a soccer ball around with a co-worker. It’s been so long since I’ve even touched a soccer ball (I actually don’t even own one), so I was super excited to dig my HIGH SCHOOL soccer cleats out from the garage. They still fit like a glove! We did some passing and volleying drills for about 40 minutes before getting overly hot and hungry and calling it a day. Soccer totally works out different muscles than I’m used to, so even though we only really ran after the occasional awry ball, I’m definitely anticipating some soreness tomorrow.

Dinner was pretty darn boring (but nonetheless yummy), since I was too tuckered out after my soccer dabbling to whip up anything fancy.

Another veggie burger on whole wheat. This time I just cooked it on a non-stick instead of on the BBQ, and it tasted exactly the same.

Denis even had his first bite EVER of veggie burger tonight. He said it tasted like dijionnaise. I do like my condiments :).

On a more exciting note, Denis baked two bread loaves with mystery surprises inside.

The one on the left has a wedge of Laughing Cow inside. It was so creamy and surprisingly one wedge was enough to cover the entire baguette. Baguette #2 had prosciutto. This one was obviously out of this world. I ate the whole Laughing Cow one (minus 1 bite) and Denis ate the prosciutto one (also minus 1 bite). Talk about carb overload.

For “dessert”, I munched on a Zone Perfect Chocolate Peanut Butter bar. I put dessert in quotes, because I literally began eating this right after I swallowed the last piece of bread. Nice self control, huh?

I’m going to spend the rest of the evening watching Top Chef and getting myself a big girl domain for this blog! Hopefully next time you visit, I’ll be at rockngranola.com instead of rockngranola.wordpress.com. Wish me luck!

