Feel the Burn

Today I received a package in the mail. Not only do I love getting packages, even if the contents are ordered and paid for by me as was the case this time around, but this particular package was especially exciting.

But, first, lunchtime!

I went to WFs to pick up some lunch goods, and not surprisingly ended up with a few impulse buys. That place is like a black hole for my wallet.

The entire spread + a glimpse at my dining partner’s chicken and avocado panini.

Landon (sammy owner) and I have very similar interests when it comes to eating and the outdoors. We decided partway through lunch that we are going to get serious about buying bikes and try to shop for them in the coming week or so. I can’t wait! I have always wanted to get into bike riding, but I’ve never had the necessary equipment (i.e. the bike) and was always too out of shape to even think about putting on those tight little toosh shorts and cute racing shirts. Well, okay, maybe it’s still not a great idea. But the mystery package I alluded to earlier might change that!

The main feature was a Cajun Red Beans and Rice Sambosa – not to be confused with a samosa, which I tend to do. This particular sambosa was wrapped with a whole wheat tortilla and not a fried layer of white-flour based dough.

I also tried a Chocolate Bumble Bar. I actually didn’t find it very satisfying. It was very thin and not all that flavorful – almost like how I would imagine bird seed to be. Definitely edible though, although I usually reserve that goal for food that I’ve cooked with random fridge perishables. Someone should make a food contest show called “Good Food (About To) Go Bad” based on challenges meant to clean out a fridge. ::pause:: I may have just had to stop typing for a couple minutes to daydream through the episode possibilities there.

The purchase I was SUPER excited about was this bad boy.

I was totally oogling GREENSuperFood earlier this morning when reading about Angela’s breakfast, where she used the chocolate flavor in a vegan overnight oats parfait. I almost ordered it online right then and there, but I managed to exercise just enough self restraint to hold off. But when I saw the very same product right between my sambosa and the WF’s exit door, I knew it was FATE. Without a twang of guilt (because of the fate, yeah?), I checked out and proceeded to poke and prod the canister in awe throughout lunch. I am a great meal partner!

Here’s the nutritional breakdown.

I can’t wait to try it out tomorrow!

And now for the unveiling of my new arrival…

… Jillian Michael’s “No More Trouble Zones” DVD!

At work last Friday around 5:30p after having sat at my desk for a good 9 hours, I really had a hankering to try an exercise DVD for the first time ever. I was just going to buy one, but Amazon was offering such a sweet deal on the 3-pack. Without even knowing how I felt about the whole exercise DVD thang, I took the plunge, which is why I was so excited to find out that they had arrived just 3 days after my initial order.

Along with NMTZ, I also got “30 Day Shred” and “Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism.”

On the way home from work, I took a detour to pick up some cobwebbed free weights at my parent’s from that one time a decade and a half ago that my dad thought he might want to lift weights at home. When I got home, I whipped out my yoga mat (that I bought off eBay over a year ago because it was so cute and then proceeded to use twice) and set up camp in the living room.

Man, NMTZ isn’t a joke. Although my cardio is decent, my strength is complete crap. I know I didn’t even look like the women in the video. When their legs were straight during on-your-back ab moves, mine were bent at 90 degree angles. And when their legs were bent at right angles inches to the ground mid-squat, mine were practically straight and a good foot away from the mat. I even had to take the 2.5 lb. discs off my weights minutes into the workout to keep my arms from falling off. Lifting the ~3 lb. bars by themselves was plenty though!

On another note, Jillian Michael is crazy ripped. Even though she is saying nice and motivating things, all her muscle tone almost makes her look mean. And slightly… gnarly. Am I alone here?

Regardless, I am inspired to stick with it. I definitely will still need to do some outside cardio, but I am all for launching a full out assail on my love handles (or, as Gillian calls them, saddle bags). My goal is to do the the video before or after work 4 days a week. I may have to substitute my own music though, because I’m pretty sure the novelty of the constant “untz bump untz bump untz bump” will wear off reaaaaaal fast.

I’m off to finish folding laundry (goody) and eat some more Kashi TLC Original 7 Grain Snack Crackers. Hmm… I wonder how many calories NMTZ burns. Anyone know?

I’m going to have to wake up early tomorrow to kick off my resolution on the right foot. Two of these workouts within 12 hours might just be the end of me!

