Vino, and Bagpipes, and Sweet Peppers. Oh, My!

I hope everyone had a great July 4th!

We just got back from watching fireworks at Shoreline with my best friend from high school (is it just me, or are shows getting shorter and July nights getting colder?), and decided the mood was right for some blogging. Actually, there was one between step – I had to jump in the shower after my left leg literally sunk half a foot into a treacherous mud pit that was hidden in a grassy patch during the journey back to the car post-show. Pbfthh, grass, pbfthh!

I pretty much failed at taking pictures today despite dutifully toting my camera around to brunch with a gal friend from college (egg beaters scramble with chicken and portabella mushrooms + 2 slices buttered, jammed and honeyed w.w. toast) and a holiday BBQ (mangoes + all beef burgers + baklava). I did, however, manage to take pictures of my snacks. ❤ snacks.

On a completely unrelated note, I also managed to buy a pair of overpriced jeans. You know something is wrong with the world if jeans are pricey even when they’re $100 off. Whoops, my credit card slipped. ::End digression::

Finally cracked open the Raw Revolution bar that I bought yesterday. This picture was taken on my legs (even though it may not look like it, I swear I’m actually wearing clothes here), in a moving car, by my iPhone. I wouldn’t have posted it, but I wanted to capture the texture, which was pretty homogeneous with seeds from (I think) the dates. The couple raw food bars I’ve tried have all been pretty crunch-less like this, although this one was admittedly pretty tasty. I’m not convinced agave nectar is any better for you than cornstarch though, and it definitely isn’t cheaper, so I’m not sure if I’m sold on the whole raw food movement.

Nutrition facts from the Raw Indulgence site:

Organic,91.7% Raw, Kosher (parve), Vegan, Free of preservatives, refined sweeteners, gluten, soy, wheat, peanuts and all animal products. Made in a gluten, peanut and animal product free facility. Caution: may contain naturally occurring shell & pit fragments.

Nutrition Facts Serv. Size: 62 g, Servings: 1, Amount Per Serving: Calories 280, Fat Cal. 160, Total Fat 18g (27%DV), Sat. Fat 3g (16%DV), Trans Fat 0g, Cholest. 0mg (0%DV), Sodium 5mg (0%DV), Total carb. 28g (9%DV), Fiber 4g (17%DV), Sugars 15g, Protein 8g, Vitamin A (0%DV), Vitamin C (8%DV), Calcium (6%DV), Iron(20%DV). Percent Daily Values (DV) are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. INGREDIENTS: CASHEW, DATES, AGAVE NECTAR, COCOA PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, ALMONDS, SPROUTED FLAX SEED
OMEGA 3: 3.6mg
OMEGA 6: 1.1 g

After the BBQ, we swung by WFs to pick up some snackaroos for the fireworks pre-game. This was my personal lineup that I actually made a respectable dent in. Once I pop, I can’t stop.

Today was definitely a day of home-style indulgence. Yesterday’s trip to Monterey was also indulgent. But perhaps in a… classier (?) way.

Allow me to explain.

The perfect day.

One last thing that I need to share before I hit the sack. I randomly acquired these bad boys today. Apparently they’re sweet, but they look like they should be devilishly picante.

I can’t wait to figure out what to do with them!

We set the alarm clock in hopes of making it to the gym after all the heavy food has settled to the depths of my stomach. I give us a 60% chance. G’night!

