Epic Baked Fries

Disappointment of the day: US: 1, Ghana: 2. At least I knew the outcome (despite my best effort not to) before sitting down to watch, which saved me a lot of heartache and elevated blood pressure.

Rewind.

FINALLY got to the gym this morning, but, let me tell you, it was a struggle. The roommate came home with some folks at 3:30 am. And as we don’t live in a mansion or a hyper-insulated bomb shelter, I had to toss and turn through the after party festivities for a good hour plus (but a more desired outcome than them driving home post-imbibe). Cranky me had to hit snooze a good 5 times before finally dragging myself out of bed.

The gym was packed, and I nabbed the last elliptical and went at a slowish pace on level 9 (not sure if these levels are consistent across elliptical machines??) withTwenties Girl. The book is decently entertaining, but not really page turning (I’ve had to renew it twice from the library, and I’m still not that close to finishing). Fifty minutes in, a voice on the intercom announced that there was a 30 minute maximum on thecardio machines when people were waiting. I was torn between giving dirty looks to the people next to me that had taken permanent residence on their machines long before I arrived + feeling bad for one guy that looked like he was waiting (or somehow just lost). My feeling bad sentiment is strong. Always.

Got back home and was STARVING. But as soon as I got out of the shower, Denis dragged me out looking like a drowned rat to pick up a laundry machine from aCraigslist seller.

An hour and a half later, food at last!!

PB Oats & Yogurt Parfait

1/2 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup non-fat FAGE Greek yogurt

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Pinch of salt

2 tbsp peanut butter

Cook oatmeal as usual with H20, pumpkin pie spice and salt. Layer in typical parfait fashion with yogurt, and finish with a heaping spoon of peanut butter (the one food I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of). Yum.

The rest of the day zoomed by. (I accidentally captured the spirit of this “zoominess” in some of the blurry pics below. I NEED to get better with my camera.) Summary: went to a BEAUTIFUL open house (but we’re just not ready to bid on anything yet) where the real estate agent unintentionally ruined the game for me –> did a much needed load (+ a couple more!) of laundry in our new-to-us machine after our old one broke three weeks ago –> watched the US game anyway (and confirmed my college roommie’s text that Donovan is indeed a looker) –> back to the grill for dinner!

World Cup Snacks = Guac (with a new find at WFs – Guacamole Ole! Dip herb pack) + Chip Love

Hubba hubba.

Regulation + 2 15 minute OT halves. US is out (*sob*). Dinner Time.

Two potatoes, cut into wedges…

mixed with these bad boys + some EVOO…

and baked at 500, then broiled on a sheet pan.

Voila! These were SO good and pretty darn healthy! The trick is getting them nice and crispy in the oven with the right amount of EVOO and some good broiler action at the end. If I owned a restaurant, these would for sure make it on the menu!

The full spread! Note the random tasting cup next to the dijonnaise. The butcher atWFs that helped with the Denis’ burger meat suggested that I request a side of garlic aioli from the sandwich section to slather on the burger. He didn’t have to tell me twice. I carried that dixi cup all around the store and transported it safely home. Brilliant!!

Ground buffalo meat burger on a white bun with garlic aioli, habanero cheddar, tomatoes and onions for him.

Amy’s veggie burger on whole wheat bread with guacamole, dijionnaise, ketchup, onions and tomatoes for her.

The guts.

Rewind one more time…

… to (as promised) last night’s baking and dessert adventures!

Solo Almond Cake with Apricot Jam

I got the recipe for this cake from Denis’ mom, who in turn got the recipe from the back of an Almond Solo wrapper. She adds a layer of apricot jam in the middle, which I happily copy every time I make this. Don’t let the lack of fancy aesthetics or the fact that the recipe is attached to a metal, mass produced can fool you – this cake is OUT OF THIS WORLD. It’s not overly sweet, so it’s great for dessert, as a tea accompaniment or for breakfast.

Recipe here. I was too lazy to make the glaze, but I don’t think you miss it.

Some KitchenAid Stand mixing action.

The secret ingredient.

The last layer. Note to self: that scarf does not look as good as you think it does.

Out of the oven and cooling in the spring form.

Glamour shot: A couple slices packed up for sharing.

I also had my mind set on trying banana soft serve for the first time EVER last night after having read about drooled over it several times on a couple of my favorite blogs. I took two large frozen bananas out of the freezer and gave them a whirl in the food processor. The food processor literally LEPT from the counter. I had to wrangle it down rodeo-style for half a minute while it fought against the rock solid nanner slices. Nobody warned me about that step of the process!!

Beginning to get ice cream-like.

Aha! It really does turn into soft serve! This is where my eyes lit up like it was Christmas morning.

The texture was great – really creamy and just like froyo. Denis thought it was a little too sweet, but I was in heaven. As promised by many a blogger, I think this stuff may have changed my life!!

The length of this post is becoming as epic as those fries were good, so I’ll leave you with the following moment of zen: The promise of clean undies!

